Skip navigation

Restitution by definition means reparation made by giving an equivalent or compensation for loss, damage, or injury caused; indemnification. In chapter 22, the word is referenced several times. Mostly, the examples relate to livestock and their death. While I read this, I began to ask myself the question, “What does restitution look like in my life?” Am I providing restitution to God for his loss, damage, injury and death on the cross? Am I even attempting to live a life that could be confused for restitution? Yes I know that his death was restitution for me, for my sins. I know I should freely accept this but I also know that He did not intend that I accept it and live by my own accord. John 15:13 says, “Greater love has no one that this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” May I add to this that Jesus died for us, can I now live for him? Living for him is my restitution.
Leave a Reply

